Memorial Day Weekend Tech Fun

Well it’s almost a holiday weekend for us in the U.S.  I hope every enjoys the long weekend and remembers someone this weekend. 

I plan on installing Fedora Core 3 on an old Dell system this weekend, my first real attempt at a server running Linux.  I expect to use this system as a web server, mail server and database server.  The real experiment is how easy and feature-rich the LAMP concept is with an eye toward and inexpensive cluster in the future.  If all goes well I will also download and install MONO at the same time.  I am a C# developer by day and would like to explore C# on Linux, again as an avenue to cheaper server configurations.

I will report back how the install and configuration went and my overall thoughts on venturing into new territory.

Leave a Reply

